Should I start with a direct airline program or flexible credit card point program?

Hi everyone

I am brand new to points hacking and I’d love some inputs please on what kind of FF program & hence credit card I should get given my circumstances… There seem to be so many options / permutations that I’m getting a bit confused!

I think my main question is - should I accumulate Qantas or Velocity points, or accumulate Amex points which are more flexible… but I gather that when I transfer these there is an ‘exchange rate’ which means they are less effective than accumulating points directly with an airline?

Anyway - here are my circumstances…

• My goal - return business flights to Europe or US for a family of 4, every 2 years, as close to free as possible
  • My work sends me interstate / overseas on Qantas occasionally (1-2 a year), if I travel overseas it is business class
  • My wife loves Singapore airlines (I do too!) and I read recently that it is easier / cheaper to redeem seats with them (?)
  • My average monthly credit spend - ~$8000/month. My card is bundled with my home loan, and I believe I have the option of earning Qantas points with them (capped at 4000 points / month)
  • I have close to 0 points on Qantas / Velocity as I recently redeemed them for something else
  • We love travelling to Asia (at least once a year) and travelling business class would be great for that too, however I feel it makes better sense to save my points for the Europe / US trips. Happy to be challenged on that

Would love to hear your comments and suggestions.

Cheers

Hi doublea,

Welcome to the world of points hacking!