Should I focus on Velocity Frequent Flyer or Qantas Frequent Flyer if I'm just getting started?

Hi All,

I do a lot of travelling so would be good to get some points, so I’m looking forward to getting my first credit card.

The First question is, does Qantas or Virgin FF’s have better redemption rates on partners? That would determine I suppose which option to go with best. Otherwise I understand my option is with American Express, as they have more redemption partners.

I know there’s a lot of guide’s on here, and I’ve gone through a lot - but I just need a helping hand in understanding which is the best route to start with (for eventual redemptions on flights overseas in business class or more).

You mentioned you do lots of travel. Is this domestic or international? Economy or business? Who do you currently fly with? These sorts of questions will help figure out which airline to collect points with. Another consideration if you fly a lot is earning status, which would should keep in mind.

It’s hard to say whether Qantas or Virgin has better redemption rates as it often depends on where you want to fly. I would say that Virgin generally requires fewer points domestically, whereas Qantas has a great range of international partners which makes it easier to find international flights to use your points. As you mentioned, keeping points in a flexible program such as Amex Membership Rewards can be a good idea; however, unless you have a Platinum Charge (versus the Platinum Edge), you won’t be able to transfer to Qantas so keep that in mind.

Cheers for the answer.

At this point, it’s ALL mixed. Generally I’ve stuck with One World since I was using AA points before while travelling mostly overseas (90% overseas), but now back in Australia it’s harder to accrue (AA). Mostly Economy, occasional business class ticket. (Frequent flyer accounts are - American Airlines, Aviaca Lifemiles, Alaska Miles, and Qantas, but all are quite low right now on points)