Should I focus on Qantas or Emirates Frequent Flyer program?

I’m a long term Qantas FF having banked close to a million points, but recently lost my gold status.

I’m about to move to Dubai and my work travel will be through Emirates, with whom I have zero status or miles as a new member. For this one way SYD-DXB flight, am I better off starting with Emirates, or banking the points via Qantas?

Part of me says to go with Emirates because I can start earning tier miles and I’m no longer protecting a OneWorld status level, however part of me says Qantas because of my points accrued so far which will be handy for upgrades when making personal travel on QF back home, or on to London.

Any thoughts?