Getting poor value for my points to redeem business class flights to South America, is it better to convert my points to cash instead and pay outright?

Hello Hacker Community!
Here is the situation:
Currently have nearly 1 million points between 2 separate credit cards with no simple way to redeem points for flights required to South America without adding a whole lot of unnecessary extended travel time and destination as per recent previous discussions with other Point Hackers regarding the airline monopolies and stinginess of LAN and Qantas to South America overall.

A friend in the US recently suggested just redeem the points as cash back onto my credit cards and pay for the fares outright instead. Hmmm…perhaps that works for US Citibank credit cards but not sure of the value with Australian credit cards given I have no experience yet transferring points/redemptions for a flight to date. Point Hacks has been a huge resource and as a ‘newby’  just about to perhaps action a ‘first transaction’ please have patience with my seemingly naive questions. Hope to resolve all the uncertainty and bring clarity to the decision making process with support and advice from all you pro’s out there. Many thanks in advance!

Doing the maths: Using Keith’s calculations in his very easy to read and informative Points Guide #6 Using Points- know when you shouldn’t use frequent flyer points I applied his example given in the article to my flights.

A Qantas business class seat between Syd/Santiago for dates required: $8720.58, earning 22, 500 Qantas points (Bronze- the ‘commoner’ level).  Qantas states it’s a ‘business sale’ fare, but honestly… it doesn’t appear to be much of a real discount.

In contrast to redeem points the fare requires 1, 266, 345 points of which 139,070 redemption points are tied up in taxes, surcharges (Qantas quotes value of $764.89).