Does my credit card application plan sounds right? Comments please

Hi All,

I’m just getting started and was hoping for some feedback on my plan.

My partner has Qantas Platinum status (she travels a lot for work), and so I am going with the Qantas frequent flyer program.

I will be buying a new car in the next 2 months or so for about $20K and will be flying to Japan early 2024 and a domestic flight (melb - gold coast maybe) in mid 2024. I’m hoping to use points to cover these flights.

My plan is to use sign up bonuses to get points and put the car on these to cover the minimum spend requirements, pay these off using money I have sitting in the bank, then keep one or two cards open for everyday spending. Every year I’ll churn a few cards to get sign up bonus.

I was thinking of applying for these three cards:

1. ANZ Frequent Flyer Black
  2. Qantas Premier Platinum
  3. Qantas American express ultimate

A few questions:

1. Is three cards too many to apply for at once?
  2. Are these cards a good pick?
  3. Is there anything I am missing?
  4. Will I get the 20,000 bonus points with the Qantas Premier Platinum which you get if you have not earned points with a credit card before (I haven’t) if I apply for all cards at the same time then use that one first?

I appreciate any help.

Hi,

Welcome to the community.

Unfortunately, we are not allowed to provide personal financial advice on this site. Specific credit card recommendation constitutes financial advice.

However, I’ll try and provide some general responses to your questions.

The 3 cards you have shortlisted have been popular cards to apply for. Depending on the current signup bonus, point earn rate, minimum spend, annual fee, etc., it may be considered a good card to apply for for your circumstances.