Are American Express surcharges worth it, and what are the considerations in Amex Velocity Platinum vs Platinum Edge?

Hi Keith

Total newby to all of this and working my way through - I didn’t realise what you could do.  Thanks for all the great info!

I’ve never had AMEX and am considering getting one based on the current offers and I use my CC all the time, but need some help with a few things please.

1. Surcharges on AMEX - is there usually a surcharge to use AMEX?  Is it worth using AMEX if there is a surcharge?
  2. Velocity Platinum Amex card with 100,000 sign on bonus.  Can you only transfer points to Velocity with this card (this is my understanding but wanted to check)?
  3. Also, the points you earn per $ spent (Velocity Platinum) is low compared to the AMEX Platinum Edge - in terms of what I use my CC for the Platinum Edge would be a better option day to day I think, however, the 100,000 is a huge bonus.  Any thoughts how to figure this one out?

Can my partner and I combine points or contribute to the same rewards program?

Thank you!

I’ll have a stab at some answers! :slight_smile:
(Also, if you use a referral on this site, you’ll get 110k points for the Velocity Platinum! Happy to provide my link in the next few days if you want to gift me some points too! :stuck_out_tongue: You can also look for links in the forum as well.)

1. A lot of places don't take Amex, but a surprising number now do. It's a bit mixed with respect to surcharges - I've seen no surcharge (Coles, Woolies, lots of others), and up to 3% at other places. Whether you pay it or not is up to you, and how much you value "buying" your points at. This is not always a simple calculation as it changes a bit with the different ratios on offer i.e. Platinum Edge's 3:1/2:1 shopping and petrol spend. I would suggest you start here - Keith's email series explains a lot of this in great detail.