Why are award availability different when searching return flights vs separate flights?

Hello! I’m struggling to understand where i’m going wrong… I’m looking to book a trip MEL>LDN then home again LDN>MEL (rough dates some time in May-July 2022 for around 5-6 weeks away)
If i try to book both, so a return flight on Classic Rewards business class I can see a good amount of availability requiring c.320k points.
I’d prefer to save some points so only want to book the return leg as business class Classic Rewards (and can just pay for economy on way there). When i want to do this it takes me to the UK site and there is basically no longer any reasonable business class options?
Is this just the way it is or is there something smart I’m not doing?
Thanks so so much in advance - bit of a newbie here.

Hmm that’s weird. Can you give us some sample dates where this is happening for you or some screenshots?

Hey, can you let us know which airline/s you are experiencing this with? I know that some airlines, particularly Cathay Pacific, sometimes restricts reward seat availability so you can only see certain reward seats when paired together, but not individually.

Just on Qantas (i only have Qantas points) - and i’m scrolling through week after week throughout all those dates and theres not a single business class LDN>MEL available. i’m super flexible!

Hi @rosiemmmmm

A couple of thoughts:

• When I do a search on Qantas for Business Classic Rewards flights from London Heathrow (LHR) to Melbourne, I’m seeing quite a few flights in early June (mainly on JAL and Emirates), then nothing from June 16-July 3, then another JAL flight via Tokyo on July 4 … and that’s it for July. There’s a little more Economy class availability, but hardly anything in Business.