What should I do with Commbank and Amplify Award points? Best value and award availability?

Looking for advice!

I have been collecting both Qantas and Velocity points for 10+ years but have recently become frustrated with lack of reward availability. Blew the majority of my Qantas points this year on a Business RTW Award (SYD > MNL > HND > HEL > MXP | ZRH > HEL > JFK > HEL > HND > MEL)

Decided to start collecting bank award points for transfer to another FF program for more award availability. Have now amassed a good amount of Commbank and Amplify Award points and trying to decide the best FF program to transfer to.

Commbank currently have the 30% bonus for transfers to KrisFlyer, Qatar and United, but my only options for Amplify are KrisFlyer and Velocity.

For context, I am now living in London, so will mostly be using points on visits back to Australia, and within Europe.

Qatar feels like a good option for the Commbank points - love the flexibility of the Avios program, particularly living in London. Having access to the BA and Qatar networks would be very convenient. I can also get credit cards here in the UK to earn more Avios points. But then I can’t consolidate the Amplify points!

At this point, the options I’m considering are -

• Redeem Commbank points with Qatar (and by extension BA) and redeem Amplify with KrisFlyer
  • Redeem both Commbank and Amplify points with KrisFlyer

Would appreciate any thoughts or advice! I need to make a call before the end of Nov when the promotion ends.

Hi,

To throw some more points in the mix.

Velocity is running a transfer promo at the moment.(Our guide to Velocity transfer bonus offers [2023] - Point Hacks) Velocity points can be used on Singapore Airlines and Qatar Airways flights (with a surcharge component).

Both Singapore Airlines and Qatar Airways have relatively good availability for their own members/currency (i.e. Krisflyer members and Avios respectively).