What is the best use of 100,000 Qantas points when flying to Europe in 2023?

Hey everyone,

I’m very new to all this so apologies if the terminology isn’t correct.

I’m planning to go overseas with my partner for close to a year starting January next year and decided I should take advantage of some credit card offers and now have 100k Qantas points. Now given the state of the market at the moment I’m struggling to see how I can best use these points. I read that using the points + pay is a bad idea but realistically it’s the only way I will be able to get use of these points at around 55k points + $292 per person flying Sydney to London. If I were to pay with just points for this it would be 232k points each which we won’t have.

Given we are going to be buying a van there we don’t really have the option to use these points on accommodation or car rentals. So what I was wondering if anyone is able to provide me some more insight on how we can best use these points in a general sense, I’m definitely open to holding onto these points for the flights home and any air travel we do in Europe as I plan on churning through another card and will have 200k points by the end of the year (pending I don’t spend them). That said I can’t see us doing more than 1-2 flights when we are there as we will have the van.

I like the initial idea of doing points plus pay as we were going to buy the flights anyway but perhaps there is a better idea?

Hey,
You are confusing ‘Points plus Pay’ with a reward ticket + taxes.