What are the best ways to redeem flights from Melbourne to Orlando USA?

We are a family of 4 who want to fly business class to disney world in orlando during nov/dec 2018. I would really like to get “free” flights or pay lower or equivalent to economy.

We are earning points on the westpac platinum altitude card and was wondering what airline to fly to get the best out of redeeming my points and how many points will i need roughly for 4 of us.

I am still new to earning and redeeming points and i am saving and earning points towards this trip.

to help answer your query, are you earning Qantas points or platinum points and what is your current total?

we are earning altitude points and currently have 140,000 points

Mike unfortunately you’re a long way off for a family of 4. Even to do business syd to Los Angeles return (neither Virgin nor delta to Melbourne to Los Angeles) is 191,000 velocity points or 382,000 altitude points per person. Or 1,528,000 attitude points for a family of 4. And that’s not even getting you to Orlando. \r\n\r\nLax to orlando return business is 119,000 altitude points for one person.

Mark - I assume OP has altitude points - which convert to a few programs at 2:1.

I don’t know which carriers you might find to get to Orlando, sorry. It might be a hard place to get to with one carrier, and may require a change at LAX?

To get to New York , for example, on Singapore you would need 182,750 Krisflyer + $1250 per person return in business. So for four of you need 731,000 Krisflyer (which would require 1,462,000 Altitude points) plus $5,000 in taxes.

For economy, same flights its 93,500 points and $1,186 each - so 374,000 Krisflyer (748,000 Altitudes) and $4,744.

You can see why business class redemptions offer better value!