Should we be redeeming flights directly to USA or making a RTW award?

Hi Hackers,
My husband and I are going to the US in 2021 with plans to stop in LA, NOLA, NYC and possibly Vegas.
What’s the best use of Qantas points and cash for this? Should we just go for dir3ct flights to the US with Qantas or would we be better off looking at a RTW fair, maybe via the Middle East?
I’m new to points chasing so sorry if this is a common question,
Thanks!
Marisa

Hi Marisa,

Welcome to the world of point hacking!

Your question is a good one. It would help if you could give us a couple more details:

• You’ll be travelling in 2021 which means you’ll be booking the flights in 2020. How many Qantas points do you envisage having by then? How many do you have now?

• Do you have any points in other frequent flyer or reward programmes (eg. AmEx rewards, FlyBuys etc)? These could possibly be used for domestic flights within the USA if required.

Speaking generally, yes, if you have the points/cash, and the time, for a round-the-world trip, then that would be a great thing to do. I’m a very strong believer that the “best” use of points is to use them in the way that gets you the most enjoyment. So if you’ll enjoy a RTW trip and you can afford it (either in points or cash), then go for it.

Hope this helps. And thanks for teaching me something … I had no idea that NOLA is another name for New Orleans until I Googled it!

Thanks so much for replying SixtyEight!
At the moment, I have around 66,000 Qantas points, 100,000 CBA points, approx 60,000 velocity points and I’ve just signed up for the bonus Amex 100,000 Qantas points (which I look on track to be getting).
My husband will sign up for the Amex bonus next year and at the moment, he has around 45,000 Qantas points. I’m not sure how many velocity points will have.