Should I be focusing my efforts in collecting Krisflyer/Velocity points vs Qantas for business class family trip to Europe?

Hey team,

I am a bit new to all of this and was hoping someone could help. I am looking to go to Europe in June 2025 with my wife and 2 kids and was hoping to use points to book business class flights.

I have accumulated 360,000 velocity points over the years which i was thinking of converting to Kris flyer points with Singapore airlines. I think the rate is 1 velocity point equals .65 Kris flyer points. Does anyone have any experience transferring points between velocity and Kris? Is it hard to do, capped at a certain number of points etc.

Looking on the Singapore airlines website a reward business class flight to London from Melbourne is approximately 232,000 Kris flyer miles which i have. I was wondering if anyone has any experience with any credit cards that have promotions to earn Kris flyer points or if i should sign up to another velocity one and keep accumulating points that way. Does anyone know if you need to have a certain status to be able to book a business class reward flight with Singapore even if you have the points?

The alternative is signing up to a promotion with a Qantas affiliated credit card and start accumulating points that way. There is currently one that has upto 150,000 points for first time card holders. The return points for a business class flight to london is 289,000. A friend of mine recently flew with qantas business class and said they did not require a certain status before being eligible to book.

In your experience, which program provides the best value for money or points?

I am also aware that the transfer between Velocity and Singapore airlines is currently paused but am assuming it should be back up and running soon.

Thanks for your help!

Hi and welcome.