Process for booking business class flights to Europe using Alaskan Airlines miles?

Hi everyone,

I’m a student who’s looking to book Business class fares to Europe next year, for as close a price as possible to economy. (Preferably business all the way, but also open to flying economy to Asia and then business onto Europe). Please excuse me if any of these questions are basic, as I’m quite new to this process.

I recently discovered this very helpful guide: Promotions for buying Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan miles - Point Hacks, which leads me to believe that purchasing Alaska miles and redeeming them on Cathay is the most economical way to go. Please let me know if there is a cheaper way to complete this journey. (Have to leave from Melbourne and I assume I have to go through Hong Kong as it’s Cathay, but open to arriving anywhere in Europe (preferably Western) that would minimise costs and maximise availability).

Firstly, I wanted to confirm that I don’t need to meet any specific requirements to purchase Alaska miles (i.e. be a US citizen, have flown with Alaska etc). If there is an age requirement, I am over 18 but not yet 21. Likewise, I wanted to confirm that there are no hidden costs associated with opening and maintaing an Alaska account.

Onto the redemption of points. After purchasing Alaska miles, am I able to redeem them instantly on Cathay flights? Is there an advantage to booking a year or so in advance, or do more seats appear closer to the date?