Newbie to point hacking, where do I start with flights/hotels redemption using points?

Hi,

I am a newbie.

I have so far gotten myself a Velocity points card (2168 points) and an American Express Platinum Edge credit card (16910 points). I have also joined up with most of the major frequent flyer programs and hotel programs.

I would like to go to Brisbane this weekend for 4 days.

Then in Early May I would like to travel from Sydney - Hawaii (Oahu, Maui, Big Island, Kauai) for 3 weeks - Japan 2 weeks - Taiwan 5 days - South Korea min. 3 weeks I won’t need accommodation - (12hour Stopover in Singapore) - Back home to Sydney around Mid July.  I am flexible with dates and the order of places I travel, except I would like to travel to Hawaii first.

What is the best way to use these cards, and earn/spend points? I know how to earn through buying petrol, at Woolies and through the velocity online store, but I’m not sure where to start with buying flights/hotels and using points.

I’m so used to buying the cheapest ticket on Jetstar and finding decent and cheap accommodation without worrying about points!

I appreciate any help. I hope to buy the Brisbane ticket at least today.

Cheers :slight_smile:

I’m a bit confused. Are you asking how you can book your flights to Brisbane and/or Hawaii etc using points? Or are you asking what cards you should use to pay for these flights maximise how many points you receive?

Thanks for your reply.

I don’t have enough points to pay for a flight. Apparently there is also a minimum amount of Velocity points you need to use them. So yeah, what cards should I use to pay for flights, and for which airlines to maximise how many points I receive…Eg. If I book a Virgin airlines flight, and I use my Amex card to pay for it, do I gain both Amex points and Velocity points? Do I do it through Velocity or Amex website? Any suggestions for better cards?