Is it better to buy an economy ticket then upgrade to business from Perth to Europe when using Qantas Points?

Hi Guy’s

Sorry i am new to this sort of thing and trying to get my head around all the different programs and so on.

I belong to Qantas FF program and have about 170k points in the bank. My question is, is it better to buy an economy ticket then upgrade to business from Perth to Europe or use all my points completely?

Both my wife and i would like to travel in mid august 16 and i think it would take about 400k points or so to get business return, just trying to find the best value.

If it’s better to use all my points instead of upgrading from economy, what should my plan of attack be for find the extra 200k points? I have an ANZ black card and just use it for my monthly spending, dont travel too often so i can’t gain points unless i spend on house bills.

Any help would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

IMHO it is better to use all the points to redeem business class outright rather than upgrade. That’s the only certain way to ensure you have business class seat.

Qantas’ a’ upgrade system is like lottery. Basically you apply for an upgrade and you hope you will get it. The problem is, it depends on how many people are competing with you for those seats and it also depend on your status with QFF. If you are platinum one and traveling on mid-week on low season on a unpopular route, you have a good chance. But if you are poor average bronze like me and traveling on Xmas heading to London, you might as well forget it, your chance will be poor. Also in order to upgrade, you need to purchase the most expensive flexi fare which can easily cost >$3000 rt to Europe. If you don’t get your upgrade, you are stuck in economy for 22 hours with a very expensive fare.