Is credit score a big factor in getting approved for premium credit cards?

I’ve been churning credit cards for over 2 years and have accumulated, and redeemed, a substantial number of QFF and Velocity points. I subscribe to Equifax and my Credit Score sits at anywhere between about 531 - 612 which is in the “average” range. As long as I watch how often I apply, I can usually get approved (and multiple times by the same banks) for the cards with 40,000-50,000 points. But I ALWAYS get declined for the really BIG cards with like 75,000 points that are usually called names like “signature”, “black”, “premium” etc. I don’t even bother now, because I don’t want to risk the credit hit. I know they all use secret approval criterIa, but do you think they just automatically decline you under a certain Credit Score for those type of cards? Is there something I’m missing?

You dont qualify for those higher limit cards - end of story. Banks dont use the ‘credit score’ made available to you by credit bureaus. Thats just a BS marketing scheme to get you to apply for the deals they advertise, and to pay for their own services. Use it as a general guide, but in principle, it means nothing.\r\n\r\nBanks use their own credit scoring system. Its not published, and even staff dont know it.

A lot of them will say they require a “good” credit score. So you seem to be doing well if your score is “average”.

I’m not sure what your income is, these cards usually have a higher minimum limit, so if you have lower income or other debts you’re less likely to be approved.

I have had a few cards over the last 6 months. My credit score is usually between 600 - 800, and serviceability is not an issue for the $15k minimum limit that comes with most of these big sign up bonus cards, even when considering the value of my other credit cards. Here is what I have learned:

The very first card I started my point hacking with was the 75k bonus ANZ. I applied for that and was successful.