How to pick seats on Qatar flights (redeemed with Qantas points)?

Hi, I’ve booked a multi-flight trip to Europe utilising my Qantas points. Several of the legs are travelling with Qatar Airlines. I have gone onto the Qatar website to choose my seats, as you can not do that on the Qantas website. I have put in my booking number and brought up the seating section, however it says I am unable to choose my seat.
What have other’s experience been utilising Qatar airlines and choosing their seats? Thanks

Hi,

I have no specific experience in this but am trying to see whether I can help in any way since there is a lack of response from others.

If you have the eticket # or Qatar PNR (confirmation number, which is usually different from the Qantas PNR), you could try “managing bookings” via Qatar, or other partner airlines. I have heard that Finair has a good interface for this.

You could try this and see whether that helps. If all else fail, ring up Qatar.

1 Like

Hi w.hiew,
Yes I did end up ringing Qatar, they have no Australian office so I had to ring Doha head office. $180 in phone calls later I was able to reserve my and my husbands seats. Did not know what seats we were getting even though I tried to follow her allocation using seat guru. We ended up being allocated rear facing seats in the crazy herringbone arrangement that Qatari now have in use.
I spoke with Qantas the next day and they confirmed they have had complaints regarding Qatar not allowing online seat selection by Qantas points customers. She said she only hoped it was being looked into.

Wow that’s a bummer. I found a Qatar Australia number
1300 340 600 option 1. Not sure whether it would have been helpful with your seat selection request. What’s done is done, I guess.

https://www.qatarairways.com/en-au/worldwide-offices.html#

If you have the flight numbers, dates (& maybe seat numbers), we should be able to get to the bottom of the seat layout.

1 Like

Oh wow! That’s always the way :frowning: