How to get from Melbourne to Ho Chi Minh with points?

Hi everyone. I’m looking to travel to Ho Chi Minh City in January from Melbourne and recently signed up to the Amex Explorer card with 100,000 points and was wondering the best way to use these for business class flights return either by full points purchase or upgrade from economy or premium economy. I don’t mind layovers and any help would be great as I’m totally new to this world of FF points! Thanks!

Hey there,

Good to see that you’re taking advantage of the promo!

If you wanted to go down the path of purchasing a full-fare economy or premium fare to then possibly request an upgrade, your best bet flying from melbourne would be to take Qantas as far Bangkok or Singapore, although neither of these routes are served by an aircraft with a premium economy cabin at this stage. Keep in mind thought that upgrades are determined in no small part due to your status, meaning that if you’re Silver or above you might fancy your chances in January school holidays, but bronze frequent flyers are last in line and probably wouldn’t stand much chance.

Just did a quick search and after about the 7th or 8th there is really good availability in Jetstars “star-class” either on the flight via Sydney or via Singapore from Melbourne, but that is more in-line with premium economy than business class. Nice big seats, loads of legroom, upgraded meals and service, but no lounge access on award seats and of-course not a lie-flat by any means.

As far as I can see there doesn’t appear to be much with a carrier that could offer a fully-flat bed or a true premium cabin; to be expected during such a peak school holiday season. Any seats that any of Qantas or it’s partner airlines released would have been snapped up pretty quickly I’d imagine, but the Star-class is still a great option to do it in relative comfort on the cheap compared to a cash-fare during peak season.

Hope that helps!