How to fly to Eastern Europe/Russia and back via Thailand with Velocity points?

Hi guys!

I’m planning some travel with a mate and we’d like to go to Ukraine and Russia for a holiday in May/June. Let’s say flight into Kiev and flight out of St Petersburg (or the other way around).

I would also like to go to Thailand (Bangkok) for 5 days on the way back (just me, not my friend).

I have 450,000 Velocity points and 160,000 Bank of Melbourne points.

I was thinking the best use of the points is to buy Economy flights and use the points to upgrade us both to either Business (or failing that Premium Economy) - a gift for my mate.

I’ve never done this before.

Can someone please help me understand a few things? For example:

• Which airlines I should be looking at to make this trip?
  • I know Eithad has a partnership with Virgin, so should I try both of them?
  • I’m thinking I should I book two one-way trips? (given my mate doesn’t want to fly to Thailand, and I can just upgrade him on the way there).
  • What is the general process? Should I ring the airlines to confirm I can upgrade the flight and book/buy them over the phone?

Thank you!

OK, some more research has found that both Eithad and Singapore seem to be a good way to get to Ukraine (Kiev).

Have also learned that you can’t upgrade Eithad flights using Velocity.

On the Virgin website I can’t choose Kiev as a destination.

On the Etihad website I can see the flights but no option to pay using Velocity points.

So, as far as I can tell, there is no way to do this online and I need to call?

OK, best I can figure is I can use my points to get to/from Abu Dhabi (booked via Velcoity/Virgin wesbite), and then buy the rest separately.

If anyone had any other others I’m all ears :slight_smile: