How to fly Cathay Pacific business class Hong Kong to Melbourne using Qantas points?

I’m searching on Qantas Frequent Flyer website for Cathay Pacific business class availability flying HK to MEL one way, in early July 2019. The seats aren’t supposed to be available until 353 days in advance, but I was checking for flight availability on what should be visible now (late June), and it seems I cannot see any Cathay Pacific flights - even in economy class. Only Qantas seems to be showing up. Is there some sort of blackout period for redemptions on Cathay Pacific, or something else I’m not doing right?

Hi Danny, We are planning a RTW trip in Sep/Oct 2019 starting with MEL-ZRH. I have been checking flight availability at least daily for at least 6 months (OCD is a curse.) Until 3-4 weeks ago Cathay always had good availability in Business 358 days out on Mon Tue Wed and occas Sat Sun a week or so closer. Everything changed about a month ago. Now there is nothing! This has happened once or twice before for a week at a time earlier in the year but the flights always came back. I rang QFF as to why a couple of weeks ago but they have no idea. My hope is that either school holidays or the northern summer are the reason but I must admit it’s looking more serious the longer it goes on. Without Cathay it’s going to be much more difficult, and maybe cost more points, to book our trip.

If it’s any help I’ve just checked another of our legs. Over the last few days some JFK-MEL Business Cathay flight have begun to return and the furthest in advance available now is for Sat Jul 6.

Hi ianz, thanks for the insights, hopefully availability on this leg is also going to be restored. I’m curious though, for your RTW trip, are you using oneworld classic reward? My understanding on that is that thats always 280K Qantas points, no matter which oneworld airlines you’re flying, with the only difference being the carrier charges.