How to buy miles for an upgrade?

I’m a newbie here and to be honest I find it difficult to keep up with all the different options (programs) that available in regards to purchasing and transferring miles for upgrades.

Firstly, I have previously completed the"Earn more points" email course which I found of value

However I wish to purchase miles through a program for upgrade purposes and find it quite confusing with all the options and opportunities to purchase miles maybe at a discount in one program and then it seems using smoke and mirrors transferring those points elsewhere for use.

I have just booked premium economy flights Syd-Hav via Canada on Air Canada after registering on the Aeroplan Membership site to at least earn some points for future use.

I am also a member of Qantas frequent flyer and Air Alaska programs.

I’m hoping someone can demonstrate how I would find miles that i can purchase for an upgrade to business class on our Air Canada flight and also how I decide if purchasing the miles is worthwhile?
Read: is it cheaper (by a fair bit) than flat out paying for a business class ticket?

I appreciate that purchasing miles can vary greatly depending what time of year it is and who is offering what kind of deal along with “bonus” miles etc at that specific point in time.

But I was hoping that someone could advise me, at this point in time ie: nov,Dec 17 if there is something out there I can investigate further? Also what advice on what I have mentioned above would be appreciated.

Thanks

First of all let me say am not a “Guru” but my wife and I have enjoyed cheap first class and business class flights all around the world using purchased and earned points. We are flying to Europe again in August; Emirates First Class using Qantas points (earned) and returning Qatar First Class using American Airlines points (purchased) and by my reckoning we are saving over $30,000 on the retail price.