How to best use Qantas or Velocity points to get to Vancouver/Calgary/Anchorage?

I would like to fly to Vancouver/Calgary/Anchorage in with my daughter from Australia for 3 weeks over June/July Semester break. I have qantas FF points, virgin points and I am a member of star alliance. Can you advise the best way to get there or upgrade using these points, or other avenues to pursue?

Hi,

I assume this is for 2018?

I usually recommend booking premium seats outright with points. However, I understand it’s not an option if you don’t have enough points.

I’m not an expert on point upgrades because of the point above but as far as I know, Qantas FF point upgrade generally is only eligible for Qantas flights. As Qantas doesn’t fly to Canada direct, you can only use Qantas points to upgrade you to USA.

However, if you have no Gold or Plat status with Qantas, I would say your chances of getting an upgrade on Qantas AU-USA direct is very slim. Usually these seats are snapped up right away on outright Classic Rewards redemptions. If you are booking exactly the moment seats are released (12 mths) in advance, you may be in with a chance. Depending on the exact dates you are looking for next year, you may have to act fast to secure the seats (at the time of writing, you can book up to 17 June 2018.

If your point balance allows (for a slight premium), you have other methods to get to Vancouver (for example) via Hong Kong/Tokyo because Qantas is a oneworld alliance member -> you can use Qantas points to redeem other oneworld member airline award seats.

With Virgin Australia, I can only suggest flying to LAX for example and finding your way to Vancouver separately. Similarly to Qantas, you have to book as soon as the dates are available for booking. This route is very popular for obvious reasons.

The other issue with upgrades are:

• You usually have to pay for an expensive Economy Fare (not the cheapest) to be eligible for an upgrade