How to avoid flight changes to Classic Rewards Flights leading to impossible connections?

Hi :wave:,
I am new to this. I booked Qantas classic rewards flights early this year for travel to Canada mid-July (economy one way and premium the other way). It is via LA and partly operated by WestJet. WestJet changed the flights and it now has an impossible connection (departing 2 hours before the other flight lands).
I called Qantas twice but they said that they canā€™t book me on another flight because there are no reward seats available - even for an earlier Qantas flight to make the new connection (these seats are rather rare so of course, there is no classic reward seat left 5 weeks before departureā€¦). They have offered a cancellation, which is not a desirable outcome. They said they would put a request for another flight to WestJet but my whole trip might get cancelled. They said sometimes reward seats become available closer to the date, but there is nothing guaranteed. They said if I had paid with a combination of money plus points rather than buying classic reward seats, they would have been able to rebook me straightaway (clearly, this is not as good value though). I am still waiting to hear back.
I have seen a few posts here with different outcomes but generally, do these normally get resolved (i.e. rebook on a reasonable alternative flight)?
Is this now common among airlines reward programs?
Not sure how much it played in this case but if it is common, is it advisable to avoid reward flights partly operated by other airlines?
I find this situation rather disappointing to say the least. Thank you so much for any advice on this,
Marie

This practice seems to have started during covid when there were literally no alternative flights for them to transfer you to so the only option was a refund.

You could cancel the Westjet flight only and purchase a separate ticket from LA to Canada.