How do Qantas Classic Rewards Upgrade requests work?

Hi all, points newbie here looking for some guidance on Qantas Business Classic Reward seats vs Classic Rewards Upgrade requests to Business.

Some background:

My partner and I have had a last minute change in plans and now are looking at flying with Qantas to Hawaii from Sydney in early-mid October this year (very close, I know, but it is what it is). I was wondering what our chances were in requesting an upgrade on the flight there with points.

I am currently Gold FF status but will be Platinum at least the end of September, if not end of August (due to points from work flights). I also have about 230k points at the moment, but again will likely have a bit more by the time Oct rolls around.

I canā€™t see any Business Classic Reward flights available for me to get with points outright (and assume theyā€™re all gone because itā€™s < 3 months out haha).

So my questions are all probably related, but:

1. Is it worth buying the Saver economy fare rather than Sale fare for the chance at an upgrade in these circumstances?

2. Do Classic Reward Upgrades to business class only get approved if there is Award seat availability in business? Or can they be approved if there are any business seats available at the time of my request being assessed? So basically, if I donā€™t see any Business Classic Reward seats now, should I just forget about an upgrade?

3. Will my platinum status be taken into account as long as I get it before the 3 day window before the flight, or does Qantas only look at my status at the time of putting the request in?

Iā€™m not too fussed as itā€™s super close now, but thought this was at least a good opportunity for me to start learning for next time!

Thanks,

Bec

Gā€™day @Beekybooky,