How do I fly to Italy in August 2023 using Qantas points?

Hi
I wonder if anyone is happy to suggest a rewards route plan for me? I’m going crazy trying to work one out on Qantas site. I’m not very experienced at finding multi stops. Hubby and I need to be in Venice on 31st Aug. Staying in Italy a month. Fairly flexible with dates.We are in Adelaide but don’t mind where we leave from or arrive in.
We’re Platinum and have tons of points obviously would love business class but happily would look at purchasing and upgrading.
I know availability is an issue but if I even had a route to keep checking it’d be half the battle.

I just cannot seem to work out that multi city tool it goes to even find Venice or Milan for me.
Thank you!!:exploding_head:

https://www.google.com/travel/flights/search?tfs=CBwQAhotagcIARIDQURMEgoyMDIzLTA4LTAzcgwIAxIIL20vMDdfcGYyCE9ORVdPUkxEGi1qDAgDEggvbS8wN19wZhIKMjAyMy0wOC0xMHIHCAESA0FETDIIT05FV09STERwAYIBCwj___________8BQAFIAZgBAQ

I usually like to start looking at flights that gets from A to B if not already familiar with this route.

Looks like you could go via Perth on Qantas to Rome or via airports like DOH, DXB, KUL.

Not sure whether things have improved but availability via Emirates and Qatar has been dire.

Award space via JAL has been good a few weeks/months back.

Alternatively, I’d try requesting to open up seats for Qantas metal flights as Platinum members.

2 Likes

Thank you!! I will investigate that strategy.

Australian frequent flyer did an excellent article a while back detailing how Platinum members go about requesting for award seats to be made open so I suggest you check that out:

Also here are just some of my thoughts with your plans: