How can I fly from Brisbane to Athens 2023 using Qantas points?

Hi, I am new to point hacking and am stuck. I feel I’m doing something wrong.

I am looking to book Brisbane to Athens in 2023 using qantas points.

I have used the points hack calendar to look when rewards open up and the points needed are insane.

I have looked for May 2023 which is a lot sooner then the calendar suggests for best rewards and the points are much less.

However, the points are still around 136,700 plus $828 and that is only economy???

What am I doing wrong? I have no idea how people are getting business and first class for this or cheaper.

If anyone could give me some insight as to what I may be doing wrong that would be a big help.

Thankyou

G’day @tcford10

For starters, you’re probably not doing anything necessarily wrong. Europe is quite popular from May → September, and airlines recognise this, so they don’t tend to release as many seats available for using points, so it’ll be harder to find.

Secondly, make sure you’re choosing the fare type “Classic Reward” - these point values are set in stone, and don’t change, but they are harder to find. If you see it costing a lot more points, then it can be because there aren’t any Classic Rewards available, and it is the “Points plus Pay” option you are seeing - Points plus pay is usually terrible value and probably not worth it.

Third, that value of 136,700 + 828, actually does sound correct if you are locking in a return economy fare, on a Qantas partner like Qatar airways, to Europe (they’re around 66k one way, + taxes). Of course, its up to you whether you’d rather pay the extra 1400 in cash, or use your points, but it is worth bearing in mind that economy fares are generally poor value for your points - in this case, your points would be worth around 1c/per point (dividing amount of points by fare cost). Business class for the same flight, on a partner airline (not Qantas) would be 159,000 points one way, + taxes.