How best to use Amex Ascent points to fly from Sydney to Iran?

I have about 106,000 points on my AMEX Ascent program and am looking into going to Iran (currently living in Sydney). What would be the best way to go about using the points (or to even use the points at all?).

I’ve done the readings on this website but am quite unsure as its my first time to ever redeem points and am worried I will be converting my points at a poor rate conversion.

Any help or insight will be greatly appreciated!

Hi Creditnoob,

Your could convert your AmEx points into Asia Miles and fly Qatar to Iran (from what I can see they fly to four Iranian destinations via Doha). You’ll have enough points to fly one-way in Business. If you convert your points to Emirates you’ll only have enough points for Economy class.

The alternative is a Star Alliance airline such as Singapore or Thai, but you’ll have to fly in via an Asian destination such as Singapore or Bangkok and then Istanbul. The upside is that you’ll have enough points for a return economy flight.

Hope this helps!

There aren’t many flights from Sydney to Iran. The only 2 one-stop option is with Qatar Airways (Sydney - Doha - Tehran) or Emirates which is via Dubai.

You don’t have to worry about getting the transfer rate wrong because it’s 1:1 as long as you transfer before the devaluation in april.

You can transfer your AMEX points to Asia Miles to redeem on Qatar Airways from Sydney to Doha to Tehran/Shiraz or other Iranian cities.

For less convenient 2-stop options, there are various star alliance carriers as well including thai airways and turkish, singapore airlines, etc. There are 2 main routes you could take - Sydney to Singapore to Istanbul to Tehran, Sydney to Bangkok to Istanbul to Tehran. Obviously, this isn’t the best option but is viable. For this you would transfer your points to Singapore Krisflyer for the best redemption rate.