How best to combine rewards points with point purchase for flights to Europe 2020?

Newbie here. Have read through a lot on this site and completed the email intro course.
Still finding a little hard to comprehend. But I think I am over analyzing and getting in my own way. Now I think I may have left my run too late for our trip to Europe Aug/Sept 2020.
My wife and i have 30,000 aeroplan miles each and 220000 Westpac Altitude points.
I was hoping to convert these and buy more points from one of the FF programs to go business class.
Is there a method/ way/ specific FF program that would let me convert what I already have and buy more? While still having a decent chance at getting a rewards flight to Europe? Am I expecting too much?

Also I note that each of the airlines has a specific number of days in advance that they release their rewards seats. In peoples experiences are these snapped up within hours/days? or can there still be availability weeks after release. I understand it will depend on the route, airline and day of week. However I would be happy to fly into any of the western European cities and either fly or train to out final destination of Italy

Hi grego99,

My initial response is that you’re asking a bit too much and that you should spend another year or so accumulating points and then try for 2021. This is my thinking…

Your Westpac Altitude points will convert to 73,333 FF points. With just about every FF programme you need well over 100,000 points for one one-way business-class redemption.