Do I always need to book flights through the Qantas Site to earn Qantas points?

Hi guys,

I am new to points & just trying to get my head around a few things.

In June I flew economy from Adelaide >> KL (Malaysia Airlines) >> Doha (Qatar) >> Shiraz (Qatar). I booked this through the Qatar website and a few months later saw these flights pop up in my QFF account with 0 points. I queried this and it’s not in the “flight earning tables”.

I am now flying (economy) Istanbul >> DXB >> Adelaide tomorrow and this was booked through the Emirates site.

Am I correct in assuming that I always need to book through the Qantas site to earn Qantas points?

Thanks.

You assume correctly. The flight needs to have a QF flight number (code-share) to be eligible to earn Qantas Frequent Flyer points. Therefore, you need to book via Qantas to get QFF.

No, that is not correct. Both QR and MH are Oneworld members, same as Qantas and you are eligible to earn QFF provided the fare class is eligible to earn QFF points (see my comments below). In fact, Qantas has increased the point earn including status credits on QR flights:\r\n\r\nhttp://www.ausbt.com.au/qantas-boosts-status-credits-on-qatar-airways-flights?utm_source=internal&utm_medium=flipper&utm_campaign=home-flipper

BTW, if your booking has a QF flight number on it, the earn rate on both SC and points will be exactly the same as a QF operated flight so in many cases it will be higher earn rate, but it doesn’t mean if it’s not QF coded you won’t earn points. \r\n\r\nAlso it doesn’t have to be directly with Qantas, I have booked through travel agent on EK operated flight to SIN but QF coded and points just came through within 48 hours and I enjoyed all the benefits of a QC member including excess baggage and entry to the examplery QC lounge in SIN.

Hi Shwatta:

No, that is not correct. To earn Qantas points you don’t have to book through Qantas website. However, to earn points it must be:

1. Eligible fare class